Go Back   South Padre Island Forum > . . WELCOME TO THE FORUM . . > South Padre Island , Port Isabel, and Laguna Vista
Register DONATE Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-06-2010,   #1
newislander
Seldom Poster: 5-9
No Avatar

platform/cluster of lights on gulfside

I'm fairly new to the island and i've been noticing a cluster of lights of what appears to be a platform or well(?) or a barge out in the gulf. Is this an oil platform (well)? There seems to be a few out there in the horizon that you can see with a good pair of binoculars. I know some of them are barges and probably just moving freight, etc. I'm fairly new to this forum and I apologize if this topic has already been addressed. Obviously with the current BP situation out in the Gulf, it doesn't take much to imagine the devastating consequences to our beautiful island if we have any accidents at any of these platforms/wells within our proximity.

thank you in advance for your comments.
newislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010,   #2
RNixon
Super Poster 100+

Re: platform/cluster of lights on gulfside

There is a natural gas platform 11 miles off of the island that is visible from the north jetties on a clear day. Great spear fishing there by the way.
RNixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010,   #3
Swells
Super Poster 100+

Robs is right, there are three gas platforms you can see and right now there is a large dredge barge and a fuel tanker ship in the anchorage area. All have marker lights on them and the barges and ships can be quite lit up at night. If you take an offshore trip on a charter or a "snapper boat" you can see them much closer in detail. -sam
Swells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010,   #4
beachgirl
1st Post- Welcome!
No Avatar

2 oil platforms sitting offshore for a week